For cleaner cleaners

English: Shower

If you would like to know more about what is in your shampoo or you dishwasher soap, you will probably enjoy this article: The 3 Biggest Sources of Chemicals in Your Home . It is easy to understand but for those who want to save time, I did a very quick summary and drew some conclusions:

There are many potentially harmful chemicals in personal care products, cleaners for the house and even the tiles in your kitchen. Fragrances in particular are to blame, as well as preservatives such as parabens, and triclosan (present in antibacterial soaps and some hand sanitizers). The problem is that you use them constantly and repeat your exposure to those chemicals day after day. So now you’re thinking ”Not me, I am fine because I always go for the ”greeeeen” products”. Unfortunately, it does not seem to make any difference. They are just as bad. And products are seldom fully labeled, which makes it even more difficult for us to know what we are getting.

So what can we do, since we do not want to go back to caveman time…

  • Well, first let’s keep in mind that any product with a fragrance (unless it is natural essential oil) will have high levels of chemicals. So every time we can, it would be a good idea to choose unscented products.
  • Then, I would stay away from the car and home air fresheners. Open the windows instead; it will also air out your home  (unless you live on a very busy street and get all sorts of fumes when you open your window, in which case, I do not know what else to advise but moving out…).
  • I have been guilty of using antibacterial soap because I thought I was doing something extra to protect myself after a day spent in hospitals or doctors offices. But it appears that washing with ordinary soap is good enough in most cases. (I am not talking about the antibacterial soaps that medical professionals such as surgeons use: those have different active ingredients.)
  • When choosing a hand sanitizer, pick an alcohol-based product instead of one with triclosan.
  • The more products you use the more exposed you are, so try limiting yourself to fewer products. I really like the final piece of advice in the article: use baking soda and white vinegar as cleaners. I personally use those  frequently simply because I always watched my parents do so and I think they work just as well or even better than commercial cleaners in many cases ( nothing better than white vinegar to remove tartar or than baking soda to clean your coffee pot!)

As a side note, regarding deodorant, I recommend to use one that has no aluminum in its formula. But this will be a topic for a future post.

One Comment

  1. docjpcb says:

    so true.
    using natural products (our parents /grand parentsused to do it for decades) and avoiding industrial artificial stuff is just common sense.

Comments are closed.